Brazil

Embed from Getty Images

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.    – St. Augustine

Dear Sister in Christ,

I LOVE TO TRAVEL! Anyone who knows me well knows this. A friend of mine reminded me the other day that I had been talking about seeing the world while at university, and I remember as a child reading stories about India and China, and vowing that one day I would explore those exotic and faraway lands.

I have realised, however, much to my dismay and utter confusion that not everyone loves to travel! I have also realised that some people are happy going to New York and Miami for the one hundredth time, because that’s where their families or friends are, and they don’t have to worry about hotel costs. Fair enough. This blog post, though, is for those who agree that the world is a fascinating place, and would love to venture beyond the comfort zone of our island Jamaica to see places many people have never even heard of and some of us can’t spell, and have experiences that will change your lives forever.

I believe that we should make the time to do the things we love, and being single provides  a perfect opportunity to explore the world, before family obligations come into play  making it harder to pursue these wandering dreams. We should not be putting our lives on hold because there is so much out there to see and experience.

If you like to travel, Brazil is definitely one of those countries that won’t disappoint, with its geographical and cultural diversity, breathtaking natural beauty and friendly people. It is a must-see! I travelled with family some time ago to Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro. Rio wins out without a doubt. It is a city with great ambience, beaches, an incredible landscape and friendly, vibrant people.

Going up the Corcovado mountain to see the gigantic Jesus the Redeemer statue and the stunning views of the Guanabara Bay was definitely one of my favourite experiences.  Below are some related photos; two are my own, and one is a stock photo (next time I’ll take more photos).

Embed from Getty Images

And because no travel post, in my view, can be complete without mentioning food, here are a few of the gastronomic delights from Brazil:

Black bean soup (courtesy of whats4eats.com). Divino!  I tried to recreate this at home… epic fail!

Embed from Getty Images

Feijoada (meat and bean stew), practically the national dish. I wasn’t too fond of this one: too much meat I guess.

Embed from Getty Images

Pão de queijo.  This is the crème de la crème of cheese breads. It’s filled with fresh cheese and is very chewy, nothing like the Jamaican cheese bread. I miss this.

There is something about Brazil. It is a country with so much soul, that gave the world one of the greatest (yet barely known) musical genres: the bossa nova. The accent of the Brazilians is very rhythmic, and reminds me of Jamaican patois. In fact, there is a spirit and a vibe among Brazilians that remind me of home. I left there thinking, one day I am going to live in this country for at least a year; I have to see more of this place! Well, I’m still working on that.

This is merely one of the many travel or activity options out there. The point of this post is that as single Christian women, we should seize the day, go out there and have great experiences, rather than sit at home bemoaning our singleness or loneliness. Life is too short for that.  Now it’s your turn.

Love,

Daughter of a King

Leave a Reply

