Burdened with glorious purpose

Embed from Getty Images

Dear Sister in Christ,

Not so long ago, I was listening to a sermon online where the preacher reminded the congregation that as Christians we are not normal or ordinary. We are destined for impact, he said, “burdened with glorious purpose”!

That phrase struck me: “burdened with glorious purpose”, for it reminded me that God has great things in store for, and great expectations of me. It’s exciting and scary at the same time. The truth is I have a lot of ideas about wanting to make a difference and wanting to do something worthy of my calling, but I keep making excuses about time, my ability, how people will respond, just about all the excuses I can think of.

I don’t think I’m alone with this either. All too often we fail to assume our greatness in God because we fear we don’t have what it takes. We fear we will fail. I think too often we lose site of the fact that we do not act by ourselves and for ourselves, that we are called by God to accomplish a great purpose for the furtherance of His kingdom. If God calls us, He will equip us. Failure is not an option.

One of my favourite biblical characters is Moses, who went from a shy  shepherd to a mighty leader of God’s people, facing off and overcoming the god-king of the most powerful nation on earth in his time. Wow! Isn’t it fantastic what we are capable of when we submit to God’s leading?

I don’t know about you, but I want to live out my glorious purpose. There are so many opportunities to minister and change lives here in Jamaica, and all over the world. I want to be a part of creating change, of leading people into the light. Do you want to do the same? Some of the opportunities are right there in your home, neighbourhood, office and even in your church. Time is running out. Let’s start living our glorious purpose now.

Love,

Daughter of a King

 

 

Leave a Reply

