Light!

Yesterday at church, our Pastor preached about Christians being a light in the world. He said we were called to essentially dispel the darkness of this world. His message brought back a sentiment that dogged me most of last year: a sense that I am not living up to my full spiritual potential and that I am not fully living out that glorious purpose to which we are all called. Do you ever get that overwhelming sense that you are meant to do so much more than you are currently doing?

We are all called to be light to the world, to embody goodness, truth and righteousness in such a way that will draw others to God, but how many of us have essentially become just churchgoers and “benchwarmers”? How many of us are nowhere near to giving God our all?

When I think about it, it is downright frightening how short and brutal life on this earth can be, and it scares the daylight out of me that if I don’t act now I could leave this earth without having done too much to really bring about positive change in my society. What then would have been the point of my existence?

I am using the New Year as an opportunity to realign my life with God’s will and to commit to bringing light to the world. I never want to become comfortable in the darkness. Will you join me?

Love,

Daughter of the King

Leave a Reply

