Crazy Faith

Embed from Getty Images

A few months ago, I got to worrying about my health. You see, at my (relatively) young age, I am already suffering from an arthritic condition. So I got to feeling sorry for myself, and fretting about how much worse my condition would get and whether I would eventually become disabled, etc. And then somewhere in the middle of all that worrying, I had an “epiphany” if you will. It wasn’t a voice that spoke to me, but more like a sudden realisation. It was along the lines of: “If God has taken care of you up to this point, why would he stop now?” That stopped my worrying in its tracks. That did the trick.

The truth is no matter how many times God has come through for us, with each new difficulty we face, we greet it as a completely novel problem, as if somehow it is bigger than anything God has taken on before. I think single Christian women, in particular, often worry about whether they will ever get married, have children, or whether they will remain lonely forever. We forget that the God who has carried us through every day of our single lives thus far will be around in the future. We forget that this same God has a plan for our lives, a plan to prosper us and not to harm us.

Last week I was inspired by the story behind the hymn “It is well”. You can read about the life of Horatio Spafford, who penned this marvellous hymn. Here is a man who was essentially a modern-day Job, who lost all his children, plus property and fortune. Yet, instead of turning his back on God he wrote “when sorrows like sea billows roll… it is well with my soul”.

That’s the sort of faith in God I want to have: crazy faith. How about you?

Love,

Daughter of the King

Leave a Reply

